Elvyn Holt Award

History of the Elvyn Holt Award

On May 26, 1966, John McInerny (after holding the first national conference of extradition officials in 1965 before the NAEO was officially formed), wrote to Evelle J. Younger, the Los Angeles County District Attorney, and invited him to send his “extradition expert” to attend the 2nd annual conference to be held in Chicago.  The chief of the Los Angeles County trials division, J. Miller Leavy, knew exactly to whom John McInerny was extending the invitation.  Elvyn Holt had been a member of the extradition section of the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s office for 14 years having served as chief of the section for the last seven years.  The invitation had been extended because her section processed more extradition cases annually than perhaps any other prosecutors’ offices in the United States.  Elvyn was recognized by Mr. Leavy as being “knowledgeable on all of the problems of extradition, and in particular, the mechanics involved.”  Unfortunately, as something that happens all-too-frequently, the Chief Deputy DA, to Mr. Leavy’s chagrin, designated one of his deputy district attorneys to attend.

This oversight was promptly corrected the following year. In a letter to the second president of the NAEO, Gilbert Pena, Mr. Leavy stated that Elvyn would be attending and would “make a real contribution to the conference”. She attended her first conference in Tulsa, Oklahoma at the Camelot Inn in September of 1967. (The hotel rates were $10.00!)

At the May 1968 conference, held at the Jack London Inn in Oakland, California, Elvyn was serving with Gil as a panelist on the program. The topic of the panel was “Problem Clinic”, and Elvyn discussed current case developments, executive agreements, post rendition follow-up, and interstate cooperation. Incidentally, Governor Ronald Reagan was the guest speaker at the luncheon, and his extradition assistant, Edwin Meese, moderated one of the other panels. The room rates for the conference had increased to a whopping $12.00! The NAEO constitution was presented for approval at that conference. No doubt because of her recognized expertise in the field of extraditions, Elvyn was one of only two individuals, not associated with either a governor’s or attorney general’s office, who was invited to attend as a member of the NAEO. With her spunky spirit, Elvyn soon became a “one-woman show” and singlehandedly became the stabilizing force behind the NAEO.

2024 Award Recipient

Hattie Richey
Fulton County Sheriff’s Office, GA
59th Annual Conference, Milwaukee, WI

Past Elvyn Holt Recipients


Orange County Sheriff’s Office
Extradition Unit
Orange County, FL
58th Conference, St. Petersburg, FL


Cindy Baldwin, Paralegal
Jefferson County District Attorney, CO
57th Conference, Austin, TX


Frances Neithamer, Paralegal
El Paso County District Attorney’s Office
56th Conference, Denver, CO


No award given
Conference canceled
due to COVID


Peter Smith
Sr. Deputy Attorney General, California
55th Conference, Roanoke, VA


Randy Hartnett
Retired IAD Administrator, Minnesota
Department of Corrections
54th Conference, Providence, RI


Jo Lynn Kruse, Extradition Coordinator
Commission on Criminal & Juvenile Justice Utah
53rd Conference, Albuquerque, NM


Ellen Huot, Paralegal, York County District Attorney’s Office
Alfred, Maine
52nd Conference, Cincinnati, OH


Wendy Livermore, Extradition Officer
Carson City, Nevada
51st Conference, Seattle, WA


Margaret Williams, Confinement Status/Extradition Specialist
Broward County Sheriff’s Office, Florida
50th Conference, Tampa, FL


Susan Meier, Extradition Secretary, Division of Criminal Justice
New Jersey
49th Conference, Annapolis, MD


Audrey Blodgett, Extradition Paralegal, Department of Justice,
Concord, New Hampshire
48th Conference, Kansas City, MO


Alix Kucker, Senior Assistant District Attorney
Queens County, New York
47th Conference, Charleston, SC


Jerrold Schrotenboer, Chief Appellate Attorney
Jackson County, Michigan
46th Conference, San Diego, CA


Martin C. “Red” Hendrickson, Sergeant
Jackson County, Missouri
45th Conference, Boston, MA


Connie Elizabeth Robinson Eason, Extradition Secretary
North Carolina
44th Conference, Scottsdale, AZ


Judy Mancil, Detainer/Extradition/Fugitive Coordinator
Department of Criminal Justice, Texas
43rd Conference, Orlando, FL


Frances A. Lushenko, Director of Extradition Services
42nd Conference, St. Louis, MO


Beverly J. Saucedo, Extradition Officer
41st Conference, Portland, OR


Robert Locke
Deputy District Attorney
San Diego County, CA


Marie Antoinette Bickar, Deputy
Grays Harbor County, Washington
39th Conference, Asheville, NC


Glenn Lockwood, Captain
Martin County, Florida
38th Conference, Lake Tahoe, CA


Barbara Moore, Extradition Secretary
Los Angeles County, California
37th Conference, San Antonio, TX


S. O. “Woody” Woods, Jr., Chairman, State Classification Committee
Department of Criminal Justice, Texas
36th Conference, Williamsburg, VA


Mary Jo Grotenrath, Associate Director/Chief, Office of International Affairs
Washington, D.C.
35th Conference, Minneapolis, MN


Susan L. Smith, Extradition Coordinator
34th Conference, New Orleans, LA


Jerry L. Smith, Asst. Attorney General
33rd Conference, San Diego, CA


Earl F. Dorius, Asst. Attorney General
32nd Conference, Philadelphia, PA


Raymond E. Sankey, Supervisor, Special Services Unit,
Department of Corrections, Nebraska
31st Conference, Chicago, Illinois


William Howland, Asst. Attorney General
30th Conference, Jackson Hole, WY


J. Robert Jibson, Deputy Attorney General
29th Conference, Nashville, TN


Clare Welch, Extradition Officer
Interstate Agreement on Detainers Administrator, Nevada
28th Conference, Portland, ME


Gilbert J. Pena, Extradition Counsel
27th Conference, Scottsdale, AZ


Elvyn Holt, Founder of NAEO
Los Angeles, California
26th Conference, St. Petersburg Beach, FL